National Model Design Code Update


The 14 local planning authorities in England selected to apply the new National Model Design Code (NMDC) to their areas have been announced by housing minister Christopher Pincher.

These are:

  • Colchester Borough Council, Tendring District Council and Essex County Council (East)
  • Guildford Borough Council (South East)
  • Herefordshire Council (West Midlands)
  • Leeds City Council (Yorkshire & Humber)
  • Mid Devon Council (South West)
  • Newcastle City Council (North East)
  • Dacorum Borough Council (East)
  • Portsmouth City Council (South East)
  • Sefton Council (North West)
  • Southwark Council (London)
  • Hyndburn Borough Council (North West)
  • North West Leicestershire District Council (East Midlands)
  • Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council (West Midlands)
  • Buckinghamshire Council (South East)

The national design code seeks to ensure that new developments are "beautiful, well-designed and locally-led". Developments should also fit in with local character.

The 14 councils (see above) will take part in a six-month testing programme in which they will apply the National Model Design Code (NMDC) in their area.

Further details on the Design Code can be found here:

Medium-scale housing development
Forest School

Related Posts



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Friday, 12 July 2024

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to

PFK Estate Agency in Carlisle, Cumbria

Head Office, Agricultural Hall, Skirsgill, Penrith, CA11 0DN